Restructuring the hierarchy


The Iditarod starts in just a few short days—

I have a lot of friends in the starting field, and I would dearly love to see any one of them take this one to Disneyland, but the guy who I’m looking at the closest is Dallas Seavey. Not only am I “rooting” for him, I think he can actually pull it off.

Regardless, I predict a huge shakeup of the Iditarod hierarchy this year.

So, the big question is—“who are you rooting for?”

Thanks for tuning in—more to follow….

Enhanced by Zemanta

11 Responses to “Restructuring the hierarchy”

  1. I too think it is Dallas’ year. It would be good to see such a young guy win it.

    I would love to see my friend, Hugh. Or possibly even a woman musher win it all again!

    Robert

  2. Hi Robert–yeah, there are a lot of cool customers out there who I would enjoy seeing first to the finish line! Wouldn’t it be awesome for the race if DeeDee won it?!

  3. MIKE [ THE FUTURE ] WILLIAMS JR…JASON I DONT KNOW IF I TOLD YOU BUT I WAS TALKING TO A ELDER AT KUSCO HEADQUATERS THROUGH A ENTERPTER. HE WAS WELL INTO HIS 80 AND WHEN MIKE JR NAME WAS BROUGHT UP IN CONVERSATION THE ELDER SAYS, HES THE FUTURE,HES THE FUTURE FOR ALL YUPICK ESKIMOS. I THOUGHT THAT WAS PRETTY COOL. TAKE CARE JASON I LOVE YOUR POST AND YOUR HONEST VEIWS EVEN IF IT TAKES GUTS TO SAY THEM . KEEP THE TRUTH COMING BRO

    • Hi Big Rich–thanks for the support!

      Yes, I think Mike Jr is a shining beacon in this sport–you can rest assured that I’ll be covering his race very closely in my blog (spread the word to all of his supporters!!!), as well as sending him as much positive energy as I can!!!

  4. Harmony Barron Reply March 1, 2011 at 15:19

    Mike Jr. would be a awesome!! There are so many hard working mushers out there; mushers who share a telepathic-like connection with their dogs, who want to see their team trotting up Front St. in 1st place so bad that their teeth hurt (you know the feeling). It’s so hard to pick a favorite, (without you in the race that is!)

  5. Hooray for restructuring! I’d love to see someone new win the race. I’m all about sharing the joy. Dallas, Dee Dee or Mike Jr. would all be great winners, representing the sport well. I’d also like to see John Baker win. He probably would have won last year if it hadn’t been for the Cripple checkpoint.

  6. Yeah, I really felt for John last year–I was talking with him before we left Cripple, and he was madder than I’ve ever seen him…

  7. Cheryl Suckling Reply March 2, 2011 at 08:18

    I’m following a number of mushers this year, but paying particular attention to Jodi Bailey. I think she’s got a good chance of finishing mid pack this year and then coming back to win a future race. She’s got the personal physical conditioning, the right mind set and good dogs – a great combo. I’m a Siberian Husky breeder but I can appreciate the great bone structure of a good set of racing dogs.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The dust has cleared and the smoke settled down « Jason Barron's Blog - March 16, 2011

    […] days before this year’s race began, I ran two stories titled Very Upsetting & Restructuring the Hierarchy–the point of both being that I thought that this was going to be a “funny” year […]

Leave a comment