Charting a course through the Blogosphere #2


Here are a few more thoughts on the future of ‘Jason Barron’s Blog’: I love telling stories, and I find that posting at least once a day on a wide variety of topics helps to give my creative muscles a great workout–honing my skills as a writer and giving me new and better ideas for future works in the process.

 

Okay, so let’s talk about the current & near future content on this site: in an attempt to keep my workspace clean & free of unnecessary clutter, I try to keep my categories very minimal–here is a look at the four primary subjects I find myself writing about.

1–Stories: I put my ‘epic’ stuff in here, stories that aren’t really blog posts in the traditional sense, but actually medium length essays and pieces of speculative fiction. So far, these stories have primarily dealt with outdoor adventure from my youth (which was spent on the banks of the Yentna River up in Alaska), but the content here will continue to evolve.

2–Musings: So far, I haven’t posted much here–this category was intended to be a ‘catch-all’ for random stuff.

3–Mushing Corner: I’ve spent over 30 years mushing sled dogs, training & racing from one end of this continent to the other, and this category is meant to be the repository for that collected experience. For the time being, I’m posting current mushing stuff (stories from the last 2-3 seasons of mushing), but as the year progresses, I’ll start sharing insights from races further in the past.

courtesy of 1ststoptravelstore.com4–Who’s John Galt?: in my opinion, this is a question which every person in the world should be seriously asking themselves. This section is my (waxing poetic here) attempt to answer that seemingly simple query. As of right now, this is the most used section of my blog.

I do plan to add a few more categories at some point just over the horizon–a book/movie/gaming review section, and a subject that is nearest to my heart: parenting.

Thanks for tuning in–more to follow….

Image #1 courtesy of ushecgroup.com/ Image #2 courtesy of 1ststoptravelstore.com
One Response to “Charting a course through the Blogosphere #2”

  1. Marlene Phillips-Daniels Reply July 20, 2011 at 08:57

    I love reading the stories of your youth, your musher’s corner too [at 78 and becoming more and more hampered by arthritus they’re the most vivid in my memory bank]. In 2008, my husband and I were in McGrath watching the Iditarod come through. We were staying with Ken Chase [an old smokejumper like my husband, and the only dog driver to take part in the the first 8-maybe 10 Iditarods. We had a unique view of you, Jason Baron, that you didn’t have. We knew your team was not doing well, we could see your face, your pain at having disolving plans, concern for your team. Although we watched from afar, so as not to intrude, we were very familiar with you [Seeley Lake, Lincoln, RTTS]. So your Alaska stories awaken many heart memories for me. We love the north country–BC, the Yukon, Alaska and travel it whenever we can. The 2010 Iditarod was probably my last one to view in person.
    Loved your Ballad novel, am awaiting your next one[s] eagerly—so write on !!.

Leave a Reply

