Mama, don’t let your babies grow up to be dog musher’s…


Dog team at the 2009 ceremonial start

Image via Wikipedia

I gave up a life of professional dog mushing completely after the 2010 season–Harm & I made the decision to do so together, and some day I’ll talk with more specificity about the reasons why….there will be no “come out of retirement come back tour,” no more large kennel or big plans revolving around the sport. This is my second year of retirement, and my full intention is to keep it permanent.

With that said, I still plan to keep my hand in the sport from a distance–I stay involved with the Iditarod through my writing, sitting on one of their panels and my deep friendships with some of the best drivers in the sport.

Additionally, I’ll be working in an advisory capacity with a friend who is going to be racing some pretty serious mid-distance this year, and probably even spending some time on the runners behind his team getting him and them ready to compete. As the training season gets underway, I plan to make this particular project a huge focus of the blog, so expect lots of updates & photos once we get underway.

I’ve never been happier…or as happy.

Thanks for tuning in–more to follow….

Enhanced by Zemanta
One Response to “Mama, don’t let your babies grow up to be dog musher’s…”

  1. Jason, we will miss seeing you on the trail, but I respect your decision. You’re a great writer, and you have a lot to offer as an adviser. Great things lie ahaed.

Leave a Reply

