Watermarking Made Easy ~ Harmony Barron


Like most folks, I absolutely love sharing my photographs (and artwork) with people via the internet, whether it be on this blog, my website or on facebook. I am always honored to share any of my photos with others, as long as I am asked permission first, or I am simply given credit for the artwork or photo.

I know on facebook, our rights to our photos go out the window when we agree to their terms of use, and that has always bothered me a little. And not long ago, I witnessed a long thread (on fb) where folks were talking about facebook selling their own pictures to newspaper articles, and not too happy about it. I totally understand, and that’s one of the reasons I finally looked into watermarking my own photos. The reason I procrastinated so long (and I have a feeling most people are the same way) is that I always assumed that it would be complicated or expensive, or both. Well, that is simply not the case. I googled ‘watermarking software for a Mac’ and five minutes later, I was busy watermarking all my photos.

Since I do use a Mac, I’ll link you to www.visualwatermark.com but I’m sure that plenty of software is available for a pc that is just as user-friendly and affordable as this one. Visual Watermark offers a basic package for $19.95, which is very quick and easy to download and even easier to figure out how to use. I think at the least, anybody wanting to protect their photos on facebook, should check it out. I was so tickled by the results, I just thought I would share this tidbit with others, in case they hadn’t considered it before.

Here’s an example:

www.harmony’sart.com

Thanks for stopping by folks, have a lovely evening.

6 Responses to “Watermarking Made Easy ~ Harmony Barron”

  1. Hi Harmony. I also use a Mac. I use Aperture for my photo management and editing. I found that you can export your photos from Aperture with a Watermark if you want to. I seldom upload to Facebook anymore since I use SmugMug.com for my albums and my Pro Account there allows me to watermark my photos and also sell them. I just link to my galleries on Facebook and all is well.

    • Harmony Barron Reply June 30, 2011 at 11:22

      Thanks Colleen, for the helpful information! Sounds like there are a lot of different ways to get that watermark on our photos– I feel a bit silly for not looking into it earlier 🙂

  2. Good to know….just this last week two of my uncredited photographs ended up on the evening news, much to my shock. I work in a PC environment, and know I can watermark with Photoshop. It occurs to me that I have WAY too many pix on FB and so plan to cull them before I go to the effort of watermarking photos. My paintings on my personal art website are all watermarked since it is available to everyone on the planet….my FB account is very restricted, but apparently it wasn’t restricted enough. Thanks, again, Harmony!

    • Harmony Barron Reply June 30, 2011 at 11:45

      Hi Becki ~ Yes, I bet that was a shock seeing your photos on the evening news! I know most of you pros already watermark your artwork on your websites, (I only just started!) but I think the facebook folks feel like it’s only their ‘friends’ viewing their pictures, when in fact Mr FB himself has access (and rights) to all of our photos. Crazy. I just visited your website– Beautiful work!! Thanks for the comment, Becki.

  3. Harmony,
    Sometimes I feel like I live under a rock or at least in the pages of a book. I was unaware of FB owning our picture rights. I am going to be more careful what I post although mine are not professional mostly just fun. Thanks for the tip!

    • Harmony Barron Reply June 30, 2011 at 11:51

      I get that feeling all the time Margie! And yes, FB doesn’t exactly advertise that they may do what ever they please with our photos– It’s in the very fine print… that’s one of the big reasons Jason and I don’t post pics of our kids on FB, even though we would love to show them off! Glad I could help pass the message along.

Leave a Reply

