Family Life and Chocolate Labs ~ Harmony Barron


It’s been a bit of a busy week for the Barron family, and we still have Friday in store… Monday I had a ‘girls day out’ in Helena, with a dear friend. We hit up all the thrift stores, had a long lunch, browsed art supply stores, sat with lattes and scones– all the fun things that you can’t do with tired kids and a husband who wants to be home! Sounds fairly straight forward you might say… but for me, it was the first time I have EVER been away from my children, (for longer then it takes to clean the doglot that is). I was all nerves at first, but soon became relaxed and very much enjoyed my day. The kids were after all home with Jason and Uncle Laird, who were spending their day amidst flying cheerios, barking dogs and twenty visits from our local telephone guy– who was trying to figure out just how our internet was zapped out of existence by the prier evening’s electrical storm…

Wednesday morning, twenty-two month old Julian, woke up mad and only got madder. Nothing I could do seemed to relieve his stress level. He wouldn’t eat or play and didn’t even want to be held or cuddled. I soon realized that he wasn’t using his left arm– he just let it dangle there limply, and wouldn’t even grip a cookie in that hand. I then loaded him and Oksana up in the car and headed into Helena, where I met up with Jason and our awesome Doctor. Miracle Mark knew exactly what was wrong, and with a quick twist of Julian’s little elbow, he re-aligned what was out of whack, (I was so thankful and relived, that I didn’t retain the medical term he used, but apparently it’s common with toddlers and the rough housing they get into). Ten minutes later Jules was back to his rambunctious, smiley self– although he kept a close eye on that man who tweaked his elbow! Thank you Mark!!

We bunked with Jason last night in his little home away from home bachelor pad. He’s been working really hard to become a good salesman & rain gutter installer this past month… sorry we ate up all your instant oatmeal! We then came home this morning to snow, sleet, high winds and 35 degree temps…

But with that said, I did managed to get one graphite doggie portrait done this week, for my line of greeting cards. A friend graciously let me use her beautiful Chocolate Lab ‘Xena’ to represent the Chocolate Labrador Retriever. I am now busy doing a watercolor portrait of her as well. You can check out all of my greeting cards and pet portraits at www.harmonysart.com



Thanks for stopping by folks- more from Jason tomorrow…

9 Responses to “Family Life and Chocolate Labs ~ Harmony Barron”

  1. Oh baby…you’re so good at this. Love you 🙂

  2. I love that both of you post on here. I love the sled dog stuff, the creative writing, and now I like the peek into “family life” as well. I’m so glad I stumbled onto your blog, and can’t wait to get my copy of your book to read. Looking forward to it – it will be at the top of my summer reading pile!

    • Harmony Barron Reply May 26, 2011 at 21:11

      Thanks Laurie, we’re glad you stumbled onto our blog as well, it’s so nice to have you with us! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Ballad — have a great spring!

  3. Marlene Phillips-Daniels Reply May 27, 2011 at 00:11

    Harmony, the girls day out is a good thing to do for yourself [and your family]. Even at 78 a girls day out is wonderful, refreshing and so good to touch base with a special friend. You and Jason were in the conversation, too. Donna Schumacher from Wisconsin— She’s hoping to touch base with you two when she gets to Great Falls . Right now they’re in W. Yellowstone—looks like they’ll be getting some snow, too. We’re getting more snow and rain here in the Gallatin. Spring ? HA

    • Hi Marlene–yeah, Harm just told me that it’s snowing hard up in Lincoln right now 😦 I’m really glad Harm was able to take some time for herself & her friend, sans kids, and I plan to work hard to make sure she can start doing that on a more regular basis. We’d love to see Donna–please tell her to drive safe!!!

  4. Harmony:
    Again thanks so much for sharing a slice of the Barron’s life with us. A girl’s day out once and awhile is so rejuvenating; a time to do whatever you desire with another like-minded friend.
    So glad that your little guy is his old self again.

    You’ve captured my little girl’s beauty so well. Thank you so much, Harmony. You are a very talented woman and have so many amazing gifts.
    If you don’t mind can I please link this post to my FB page?

    • Harmony Barron Reply May 27, 2011 at 11:18

      As always Margie, thank you– I always look forward to your feedback. All is well here, this morning’s fresh snowfall is starting to melt!

      I’m so happy you like Xena’s portrait, and It’s a perfect day to work on your painting. Yes, of course you may link this to your FB page, I’d be honored! Have a wonderful week end.

Leave a Reply

