Food for the brain


I used to read books–fiction & non-fiction–as my exclusive form of entertainment. In fact, when I was growing up in the bush of Alaska, books were pretty much the closest thing my brothers and I had to a “real” education.

Nowadays, I’m swamped under any number of responsibilities, and it saddens me to say that I don’t have as much time to read any more–when I’m on the road, or working, obviously I don’t have time to curl up with a good book, and when I’m home, the books I tend to read are stories for my two children! With that said, I do try to steal a bit of time in the early morning hours before the house wakes up, when I can at least read a chapter or two.

Also, I listen to TONS of audio books on my iPod Touch.

What I’m currently reading (very slowly)–Cormac McCarthy’s The Border Trilogy

What I’m listening to–Kenneth Oppel’s Starclimber (young adult adventure story), and Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged (for the second time) read by master narrator Scott Brick.

Thanks for tuning in–more to follow….

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 Responses to “Food for the brain”

  1. BTW, What do you think of Kenneth Oppel’s book? He has several series that I have been wanting to read. I just hope I live long enough to read everything that I want to. 🙂

Leave a Reply

