Back on the Road…


I’m sorry to have to inform everyone, but Jason had to take off unexpectedly this afternoon, do to a family emergency. He’ll be back to post on Saturday, so tomorrow you’ll all have to put up with me again. Not to worry folks, everybody’s okay, Jason’s assistance was just greatly needed.

I’ll leave you all with a couple of photos from the two Iditarods Jason and I ran together– ’02 and ’05.

Here we are finishing the 2002 Iditarod. My rookie run, his second. These were the first batch of pups (long yearlings in the photo) that we raised together in Montana.

This photo was taken in Ophir, (I don’t know who the photographer was) where I took my mandatory twenty-four hour rest. Jason had the race team, and I was running a batch of two year old’s. We both suffered badly from the flue that year. In fact, it was almost light’s out for Jason back in Nikolai, where he had to shut down early for his twenty-four, poor guy… I caught up with him and his dad at Shageluk, and from there, we all ran the race together.

More tomorrow friends…

3 Responses to “Back on the Road…”

  1. Marlene Phillips-Daniels Reply March 31, 2011 at 23:32

    I followed you both, every step of the way. Also was in McGrath in ’08 when Jason had to scratch. We knew how terribly disappointed he was.
    Hope all is OK.

    • Harmony Barron Reply April 1, 2011 at 10:21

      Thanks Marlene! Yeah, ’08 was a rough Iditarod, but we live and learn from everything.
      All is well with the family, thanks for your concern.

  2. Just hope that the emergency turns out for the best. Take care you two. Great race pictures.

Leave a Reply

