The Episodes of Ten


Attention fans of eReading platforms–

Of the two novels currently under way, the one which is receiving the greatest degree of my attention is The Book of Ten (the link takes you to an excerpt from the story). In pure “construction” terms, this particular story is the first of 4 approximately three hundred page novels, the first of which will not be completed until next spring and might not see legitimate “hard copy” publication until the following winter.

So here is my new plan: if the entire saga of The Book of Ten is to total 1200 pages in the long run, than my plan is to break them into roughly twelve 100 page stories and release them via the ePublishing format (various consumer eReaders such as Kindle, Nook, iPad, etc), and release them “episodically” as they are finished–the ultimate goal is to create a hard-copy book, but in the meantime I can start getting the story out to my fanbase in smaller chunks which will accomplish the dual goal of allowing me to keep the overall cost of the book(s) low, as well as feed my hungry fans πŸ™‚ Plus, I think it will be interesting from a creative standpoint–this will allow the readers to voice their thoughts & opinions on the story while I’m in the process of writing the next installment.

The first episode could be ready by mid-October of this year, with the following episode only trailing by 2-3 months!

Any feedback at all here is welcome–I truly would like the thoughts/advice from those of you reading this blog. This is uncharted territory for me–writing a book is simple when compared to figuring out what to do with it once it has been created, and I’m simply looking for intelligent solutions to today’s distribution hurdles.

Thanks for tuning in–more to follow…

Enhanced by Zemanta
8 Responses to “The Episodes of Ten”

  1. Hi Jason, If you haven’t checked out this blog, you may want to. He offers invaluable advice on e-publishing: http://jakonrath.blogspot.com/

    • Thanks for the link, Aleeha–I’ve never read this one before. I like his attitude–it’s not that he believes “print books” are dead (I certainly don’t!), it’s just that as a writer & small business owner one has to carefully look at the realities of the current publishing environment, and make their business decisions accordingly. My ultimate goal is to create a “hard copy” novel, but in the meantime I look forward to taking advantage of the possibilities afforded by the eReader platform, and think that episodes in the form of electronically downloadable novelettes are going to be fun (and cheap!) to produce πŸ™‚

  2. Marlene Phillips-Daniels Reply March 23, 2011 at 10:55

    Sounds intriguing, Jason.I’m an impatient reader though. tend to bug writers like Dana Stabenow and Catherine Coulter for the newest in their list of novels I like. One a year makes me really impatient.

    • I hear you there, Marlene. I think lots of readers fit this “impatient” profile, and that offering my writing in this manner–downloadable novellas that are connected to a much larger story at the rate of one every 3-4 months–will go a long way to help scratch the reading itch, as opposed to waiting 18-24 months for the finished novel in hard copy form–something for everybody is my new motto!

  3. I’m an avid reader of Kindle for iPhone and I still have a stack of books at hand for when I need to feel and turn pages! I’m excited about the ways writers are finding ways to connect with readers in the digital age and beyond! I’ll be following your “experiment” — but, as nothing is new under the sun, writers such as Dickens and Twain published monthly episodes in magazines and then in book form!

  4. Jason:
    Glad to hear that you think the hard copy book is not dead. πŸ™‚ I do enjoy the convenience of reading on my smartphone but I love the joy of walking through a book store or library or opening up a box from amazon.com or a book jobber for my students at school. Nearly every room in my home is filled with books. But I really understand the economy of book publishing and I like the episode approach. I am a huge fan as are my students of books in a series. This will be like that. I remember a similar approach years ago by King with The Green Mile. Go for it.

  5. Having just read your book, I came to this site to see what else of yours I could grab and read. Whereas, I love to curl up with a good book, I’m impatiently waiting to read more of your writings. I’ll settle for e-book chapters, with hopes they include the artwork of Harmony. There’s something about her sketches that tells a story in itself.
    I never go to the movies, nor watch TV, and tend to only read non-fiction, but I got so caught up with The Boy and all the characters of The Woman, The Whaler, The Trapper, and so on, that I just couldn’t put this book down.
    I’ll take e-books (chapters, whatever), just to feed my new addiction

    • Hi Karen πŸ™‚ I’m sorry that it has taken me so long to respond here–I’ve been on the road with Harm running the blog for me, and I just now read it. Thank you for your interest, and your kind words! I’m REALLY excited about this episodic “epublishing” idea–just having the ability to share the writing with everybody literally months before the finished hard copy comes out is enough to plaster a huge smile on my face. I’m so happy that you got so much enjoyment out of Ballad, and I really appreciate the fact that you’ve taken the time to tell me so πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

