’twas the night before the Iditarod…


Unbelievable.

I was sitting at the computer, thinking back on my past Iditarod’s as well as the one getting ready to unfold…and I started to get kind of choked up; the fact that I won’t be running this year is finally settling in.

I got to thinking about this last night before the race begins, what it has always meant to me in the past. For me, it’s always been about the simple things–the last peaceful moments with my family; the last home cooked meal, the last good cup of coffee. A time to meditate with my animals, to consider the wilderness we are about to subject ourselves to. The last look at the civilized world of man before my team & I step through a portal and into a different age…

This day, the day before the countdown plunges driver and dogs into the grip of the Northland, is the last day for rest, the last day to appreciate the soft touch of your loved ones–tomorrow, you have to make yourselves hard.

Today is already a dream. Tomorrow is for real.

Hey guys–give them dogs a pat on the head for me, will you?

Thanks for tuning in–more to follow

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
9 Responses to “’twas the night before the Iditarod…”

  1. Thanks for doing this Jason. It’s very appreciated. Looking forward to a real insider’s view of the race. It was strange not seeing a Barron on 4th Ave. this morning.

  2. Great blog Jason!

  3. good stuff jason keep it coming we appreaite you your a blessing

  4. Hurray! This blog was JUST what I was looking for! The Iditarod website and Alaska Daily News are nice, but they ar just not ENOUGH.

  5. Maureen Morgan Reply March 5, 2011 at 20:33

    Bob always felt “withdrawal” pains as we all sat on the sidelines watching the racers past by. Many would give
    a “high five” to Bob and smack their hands with him as they passed. He and Mike Nosko would get this sicky feeling in the pit of their stomachs. It left us wives, and handlers too,
    feeling we did a lot of work but were missing out. on the reward of being in the race. But those feelings would pass and we would say, “next year.”
    And hubby and his friend wou ld start palnning before the
    last musher passed us.

  6. I can’t imagine how it feels. I have only attended the start, once, as a spectator and I had withdrawals. I tried to work (which was why I was home and not out with dogs) No luck. I tried to clean the house – No luck. Finally I just gave up, watched the start on Insider. Talk to my sister who was at the race and talk to my other friend who wished they were. But mostly I just moped around the house.

    Thanks for your insights. I am going to learn a ton from your coverage of the race.

  7. keep them coming Jason,, great stuff 🙂

Leave a Reply

