For Those About to Rock, We Salute You


Technically speaking, the race starts today…but not really. At 10:00AM AKST, the first driver will take off from the starting chute on 4th Avenue in downtown Anchorage and drive their team 10 miles to the BLM Site on Lake Otis. They’ll be carrying a passenger, an “Iditarider” who paid big bucks for the privilege of riding in their favorite musher’s sled, and dragging a second sled with a handler who can help them in case of emergency.

It’s called the “ceremonial start”, and after that brief run to the BLM, the driver(s) will all breathe a sigh of relief, re-pack their dogs & equipment, and get the hell out of town. Tonight, they will all be meditating with their families and their dogs, and getting the closest thing to a good nights sleep they’ll be seeing until they reach Nome…

This is the calm before the storm–tomorrow afternoon, when the race starts for real, the storm breaks and we will all be held, mushers & fans alike, in its icy grip.

Before it hits the fan, I just want to take a few moments to discuss my planned coverage of the race: though I do have a few travel days planned, I’m going to do my best to post on this blog 3 times per day. I’m part of networked blogs and I’ll cross-post to the Iditarod’s FB page, but I urge all of you to bookmark/subscribe to this blog’s homepage https://mrjasonbarron.wordpress.com/ and please please PLEASE TELL OF YOUR FRIENDS & SPREAD THE WORD ABOUT IT!!! I’m happy to provide this insight into the sport, but only if there is enough interest to justify the work.

Ok, with that said, I want to leave you with a music video that I think pretty much sums up the message I’d like to send out to all of the mushers:

Thanks for tuning in–more to follow…

Enhanced by Zemanta
8 Responses to “For Those About to Rock, We Salute You”

  1. Jason,
    A couple of questions before this thing kicks off …
    Weather? Next 2 weeks indicate “normal” weather, no big fronts or cold air predicted (of course this can change). Also from trail reports – “hard and fast”. Which teams would benefit from these conditions? And which from nastier weather?
    Southern route this year. Harder? “Easier”? Any teams that may do better on the southern trail?
    Finally, will a musher from the lower 48 ever win this again? I know you are a fan of Ryan Anderson.
    Thanks, keep up the good work!

    • I think the conditions look good for Paul Gebhardt-
      Not that Paul wouldn’t benefit from crummy conditions, but I think Lance/Baker/ M. Seavey would the most-
      Southern route=much harder-
      Only time will tell concerning lower 48 mushers–Ryan is far and away the top dog right now, in my opinion-

  2. Jason, I am sure you don’t need any more “topics” to blog about, you probably have these on your list, but I am curious of your opinion on the following.
    – the future of the Iditarod? Is there a place for the small kennel/musher?
    Have they been “priced out”, particulary the native mushers? I see alot of big names, big kennels with handlers running puppy teams and people that can afford it training and running leased teams from these kennels (this is a whole other topic).
    – the most dominant win in an Iditarod race?
    Doug Swingley still holds the record time for the southern route set in 1995! Also his 8 hour margin of victory in 2001 amazes me. (No I am not related to Doug, ha, but when researching, his margin of victory over the 2nd place finisher is pretty remakable.)
    Which races stand out to you?
    No need to reply here, maybe a topic before the race really heats up.
    Thanks, enjoy your opinion, you’ve been there and done it.

  3. rock on bro iam going to spread the word about your blog

  4. I’ve been spreading the word. I requested that your blog be added to the list of links on the two forums: the official one and bssd. And I’ll post it on FB as well. Hopefully you’ll get lots of readers.

  5. Love the song, enjoying your posts! Will also pass it on to friends.

Leave a Reply

