Race to the Sky Report


First off, let me just make this one heartfelt comment concerning the Race to the Sky’s official website/Facebook page/general coverage of the event–

“ARRRRGGGGGHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Whooo…okay, now that that’s out of my system, I can continue 🙂

The very unofficial word is the following (sorry, no “times”, just word of mouth)–

1)  Curt Perano–out of Seeley Downbound early this morning

2) Laura Daughereau–out of Seeley DB, about 1.5 hours behind Curt

3) Bino Fowler–out of Seeley DB, no idea what his relationship to Laura is, but word is that he’s not very close

4) Al Hardman–out of Seeley DB

5) Terry Adkins–in Seeley DB, can leave at approx. 12:45 PM

6) Mark Ibsen–in Seeley DB, can leave approx. 1:30 PM

A ton of scratches…I have no idea why, but there are not going to be very many mushers finishing this one.

Wish I could tell you guys/gals more, but this race has been taking place in a complete “information vacuum”–the only reason I know this much is because I phone stalked a handler up at Seeley Lake until they finally answered their cel phone!

Thanks for tuning in–more to follow….

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 Responses to “Race to the Sky Report”

  1. Thanks for getting this information out to us Jason. Hope you are able to continue to do so.

  2. Marlene Phillips-Daniels Reply February 15, 2011 at 14:03

    Love the heading “Dark Side of the Moon”
    It really is. There was never any good info out about the race. When the Seeley races were cancelled and there was nothing about RTTS, I quit looking. We usually go to the start and I follow on their website. Big disappointment—-but thanks, Jason—gotta be frustrating for you, too.

  3. Thanks Jason-Ive been posting to my FB bits of info from Steve-who just got into Seeley adn Roy-trail help–“information vaccume” how sad for RTTS to have this delimma- Its been a tough race from the beginning and now a Winter Storm advisory..sigh.. thanks again for the up dates

    • Hi Wendy 🙂 I wish I could have done more…as I told Marlene, I’m volunteering to take a big role next year providing lightning fast updates! Thanks for the “comment love”!

Leave a Reply

