Something to make you smile


Over the past few  months I’ve written quite a bit about my youth, and typically the stories I’ve shared have tended somewhat to be hard-bitten accounts of living rough and dealing with subjects that most people in a modern civilization would deem as ‘morbid’–if you don’t know me, but have read my novel Ballad of the Northland, one of the last things you would ever guess is that I’m actually an overly optimistic, chuckle in the face of adversity, loves a good belly laugh kind of guy, one who enjoys telling & being told jokes (mine are really funny–well, they crack me up anyhow!), thinks Chris Farley was one of the best things to ever happen to the silver screen, and will go to his grave with a smile on his face.

To reflect the more humorous side of my nature, I’ve begun a new post category called ‘Something to make you smile’ where I can start sharing some of the things that shaped my sense of humor as a young man, and still find pretty darn funny even today.

Do you know who Gary Larson is? Well, Mr. Larson, the creator of the fabulous ‘Far Side’ cartoons, and is numero uno when it comes to the influences that shaped my ‘early funny-bone’–please enjoy the included panels!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks for tuning in–more to follow….

Images courtesy of Gary Larson
4 Responses to “Something to make you smile”

  1. Now I know who to send some funnies to! Respectable of course!

  2. Finally catching up. Gary Larson is one of my absolute favorites!

    • I still crack up reading The Far Side–sheer brilliance! G. Larson played a huge role in forging my (kind of sick) sense of humor during my formative years 🙂

      Thanks for the comment, Beth–hope all is well in your part of the world 🙂

Leave a Reply

