A Few of the Things I Love About WordPress…


The two things that strike me as the most ‘lovable’ about WordPress are its overall ease of use & its fantastic

sense of community–there are literally thousands of people out there writing and sharing beautiful photos of their life experiences, and WordPress makes it as easy as the touch of a button to connect with them.

I fumbled around with a blog last year (located on Webs.com) called ‘Kanabeararchives’–and after 9 months of steady posting–to a tune of over 66,000 words–I finally had to let it languish. I felt bad about it, I was after all letting down a small but dedicated following, but ultimately I had to address a basic fact concerning said blog: I was having no fun whatsoever.

There were two reasons why I was not having any fun–they were the antithesis of the reasons I gave above for loving WordPress. First off, the Webs.com writing tools were horribly counter-intuitive; at the end of the day, the act of writing became a dreary chore. And, perhaps most importantly, there was no sense of community at all. Aside from my small following, I felt as if I were pouring my words/ideas/feelings into a frigid vacuum–not a good feeling at all for a writer (or anybody else, for that matter!).

As I stated before, I truly relish working with the WordPress tools–much like the feeling I get when I walk into a good art supply store and stand surrounded by racks filled with paint, canvas, and various types of pencils, they make me want to be creative!

For people thinking of following this blog, that is good news 🙂

A few other features that really stand out:

Image courtesy of ugaadmissions.blogspot.com

You can easily set future posts to ‘self publish’ themselves–this feature is absolutely critical to the success of a daily blog, in my opinion.

You can easily choose between visual themes, backgrounds, and styles at the touch of a button (and there are literally hundreds of them to choose from!).

Your comment & sharing options are intuitive as they are varied–there are almost no limitations placed on how your audience can interact with you or vice-versa.

The list goes on, but these are some of the highlights for me.

Thanks for tuning in–more to follow….


Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Charting a course through the Blogosphere #1 « Jason Barron's Blog - January 14, 2011

    […] first experience with a writing a blog (as I referenced yesterday in the post ‘A few of the things I love about WordPess’) was what I think of as a ‘dog mushing’ blog–all of the posts were essentially […]

  2. Charting a course through the Blogosphere #1 « Jason Barron's Blog - July 18, 2011

    […] first experience with a writing a blog (as I referenced a while back in the post ‘A few of the things I love about WordPess’) was what I think of as a ‘dog mushing’ blog–all of the posts were essentially […]

Leave a Reply

