Ula’s Miedved #1


Ballad of the Northland, my first novel, was a boy’s story. Ula’s Miedved is slated to be my second novel, and while the focus is a bit broader then Ballad’s, it would be entirely fair to say that it is the story of a very young girl–all of the stories populating my imagination and crying out for release are young people’s stories.

But that is certainly not to say children’s stories–as did Ballad, so will Ula’s Miedved seriously grapple with the black & white issues of life and death played out against a harshly beautiful, yet completely uncaring backdrop.

For this story, the adventure plays out in the great state of Montana–Ula is a girl who has been driven from her birth home to seek shelter with strangers, pursued by nebulous forces that destroyed her family and would gladly cause her ending as well. Protected within the adoptive folds of a Ukrainian colony deep in the northern part of the Rocky Mountains, she finds out at an early age that she has some special qualities, mysterious as they are strange, that cause the creatures of the forest lands to come to her aid when she is in dire enough need…

Now she is on the run, for her life, and seemingly all alone in the world–until she meets the one creature who holds the keys to her future…and her salvation.

Photo courtesy 'Stuff bears Like'

Thanks for tuning in–more to follow….

2 Responses to “Ula’s Miedved #1”

  1. Hi Jason,
    You just subscribed to my blog on wordpress (Positive Parental Participation), so I followed the advice of wordpress and check out your blog. I am so glad that I did! I read the lead in to your new book and can’t wait to find out more…it may be a book for “young people”, but you are a great writer and the story is quite compelling!
    I just published my first book in September…one of the best things about this book journey has been meeting (through email, blog or in person) so many amazing people who I would never have know about before. Case in point…you! Nine-time competitor in the Iditarod …wow!
    I’ll be subscribing to your blog also…I think it will broaden my horizons. 🙂
    Happy Writing!

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to write a comment 🙂 While I don’t plan to make it the subject of my blog, I do have an intense interest in the subject of positive parenting, and I found your blog very inspiring! I plan to read all of your posts 🙂
      I agree–writing a book & blogging has completely opened me up to a whole new world of wonderfully creative people, and maybe a whole new circle of friends.
      Thanks again for your comment!

Leave a Reply

